Books (The Post™)

Okay, so the amazing and fabulous May was helping me with ideas on what I should do for the next post and because I’m too shy to talk about my writing ideas or oc’s here’s a list of books that I would sell my soul for so you guys can get to know me better 🙂

I’ve decided to do a top book for each genre (e.g Supernatural, Realistic Fiction, Dystopian, etc.) And why I like it and why you should read it. Because what’s the point otherwise?

Anyways here you go 🙂

4

 

Okay so I know this says contemporary but really it should say tear my heart out because my favorite ‘contemporary’ book is like the most depressing thing I’ve ever read

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-10-53-16-pm

Image Credit: Goodreads

Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Rating: 5/5

Warning: For mature audiences, explicit language, suicidal thoughts and actions and mature sexual content (I think?)

Other Books Like This: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera (though this is more science-fiction-y, it has similar ratings and is also a coming of age contemporary-ish novel) also another  contemporary novel that I love is Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by  Benjamin Alire Sáenz which I would sell my soul for and am going to be writing later 😉

Why I like it: I don’t even have words for this book. Warning it is for very mature audiences but the story is so beautiful and you just fall in love with Charlotte and honestly my heart broke every time she started to self-destruct. The prose is beautiful and it’s a book that just immerses you in its world and you can’t put it down. This book is probably the book that made my cry the longest, most often, and hardest. It’s truly beautiful.

5

Once again, because apparently none of the books I read stay in one genre this is more paranormal historical fiction because it’s set in the Roaring 20’s

Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 7.04.47 PM.png

Image Credit: Goodreads (Because the other cover is ugly )

Diviners by Libba Bray

Rating: 4.5/5

Warnings: Serial killers, murder, creepy things in general, paranormal as this category implies

Another Book Like This: The rest of the series (duh…), for some reason her reason her writing style reminds me of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle which I absolutely adore but I have some beef with Maggie (fight me (ง’̀-‘́)ง) so that’s why it’s not on this list.

Why I Like It: Okay so this book is crazy long (578 pages) and I think I read it in a day and a half? I had heard really good things about it and when I first started it, it was a little dull but as I got further I was sucked into it. The mystery aspect of it was captivating and as someone who generally doesn’t like horror, the murder/serial killer aspect part of it was my favorite part? It’s just so well written, the characters are all developed beautifully and it’s gory enough for horror friends but written well enough that people who usually aren’t drawn to horror will enjoy it as well. (The only reason it has 4.5/5 is because I love the sequel more, which while kind of weird the sequel is amazing like 27/10 amazing.)

6

Okay so this is split between two books because they’re my older favorites that I would sell my soul for.

Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 7.16.40 PM.png               Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 7.16.47 PM.png

Imaging Credits: Goodreads (a.k.a the best place to find books)

Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Rating: 7/10

Warning: Violence (????) and I mean if like people heisting scares you then I guess that’s a warning????

Why I Like This Book: Oh my god I would honestly sell my soul for six of crows. I nearly died waiting for Crooked Kingdom (and after reading it….) I love all of my irresponsible children with horrible back stories. Personally Jesper, Wylan, Inej and Kaz (’till book 2 when I came to love all of my crow children) were my favorites. The plot is just so ahhhhh and I love heist movies/books and this book had gorgeous writing, characters and world building with one of my favorite plots I’ve ever read.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Rating: Too special and amazing to rate

Warning: Is there one(?????? idk) or as the fabulous May suggested “extremely dark thoughts”

Why I Like This Book: Honestly I would die for Adelina (and Magiano). She was honestly the original anti-heroe that got me into anti-heroes. She’s just so beautifully written and I just love Marie Lu and personally I feel like this showed how she’s developed since the Legend Series. The plot is amazing and one thing I can’t stand (as you can probably tell) hate hate hate poor world building and that was definitely not something Marie struggles with. As any of my friends can tell you I just cradled these books around with me because I was so in love with them. I honestly can’t tell you how much I love this book (and series) in words, I guess you’ll just have to read it to find out how amazing it is ;).

Anyways that’s all for me because I’m saving some other books to write about for other things, so here are some books that in my opinion are 10/10.

7

Did you guys like this post? Have you people read any of these books? Any comments/suggestions? Are you having a nice day?

2

 

 

6 thoughts on “Books (The Post™)

Leave a Reply

