Books – In a Bunch of Tags

This is basically a bunch of tags because I’m on vacation yay !! I’m sorry for the lack of a real post but unfortunately I don’t have access to a computer, yay !!

giphy4
cringy gifs are my life

May over google hangouts semi-nominated me for the goodreads tag and because goodreads is amazing, I decided to do it!

My goodreads is here: 

(This is a subtle reminder to friend me on goodreads)

The questions:

what was the last book you marked as “read”?

Okay so the last book from the time I started this post and the time I’m actually finishing up are different so I decided to do both.

The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic

17259690

Okay, I know this one is kind of controversial (I mean I guess??? The first couple reviews on goodreads are hating on it???), it has a really ugly cover and I’m pretty sure is self published. If I heard that description alone I wouldn’t even pick up the book.

BUUUUUUT

Because I’m weak to pressure (and that’s all anyone talks about on tumblr…) I read this book. And it is probably my favorite book. Ever.

I just love all of the characters and because I know nothing about sports or anything about a lot of the things that people are taking issue with I didn’t have any problems while reading.

The series got better and better and The Kings Men is a-m-a-z-i-n-g. Genuinely I will talk about this book for hours and hours and hours. Read it!!!

0mjro
I just love the series so !! much !! :’)

And the book marked as read while I was writing this is:

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

8235178

Which is a book I read in like third grade (and used to have like a really cool sci-fi cover!!!) and I only added because one of my Goodreads friends had marked it as want to read.

(But I totally forgot how emotionally devestating the last book is. Like wow. And this book for not being super great has like really good plot twists) All of my third grade angst is coming back to me.

what are you currently reading?

Okay it’s not on my goodreads but I think I’m going to start Juliet Takes A Breath by Gabby Rivera so I’m excited for that !!

28648863

The premise looks really intriguing and it has overall pretty positive reviews so yay !!

what was the last book you marked as “to-read”?

I just marked two books as too read soooo yay they are,

True Letters from a Fictional Life

By Kenneth Logan

24485772

This book is apparently a guy (who is gay) version of Letters to All the Boys I’ve loved Before. It has pretty good ratings and I love the premise and cover !!!! (The cover is beautiful!!!!!!) So lets hope if I ever get around to reading it I’ll enjoy it 🙂

The Art Of Starving

By Sam J. Miller

814ykocomnl

This books cover is really nice !! And the synopsis is very very very interesting and I want to read the book so badly !!!!!!!!!!!!!

do you use the star system?

sort of……..

I kind of like to rate everything 1, 3 and 5.

Five’s are for any book I really really enjoy and I probably use them too generously…..

Three’s are for books that I’m kind of meh about. I enjoyed parts of it and others, I did not.

And 1’s are for everything else 😉

This is like a really bad rating system but for now it’s working (I don’t even know how it is though, to be completely honest…)

are you doing the 2017 reading challenge?

 

OOOOOH YEAH BOI!!!!!!!!! My current goal is 250 (which sounds crazy but I like to set unrealistic expectations for myself so even if I don’t complete them, I don’t look sad)

So even though this sounds ridiculous during the summers back in my youth (I sound like I’m fifty) I could read around 100 books just during the summer. A lot of it had to do with the fact that like, all I did was read and the books were a lot shorter and easier to digest quickly.

But friends I have a fun condition called hyperlexia so I get to read super fast !! Yay !! And so that’s why i have a pretty unrealistic goal

And also because I know I’m not going to complete it !! But I can have a cool and totally unrealistic goal !!

I’ve currently read 38 books which is really sad but soon I am going to the library so yay !!!! (also I tend to read more during the school year, I don’t really know why….)

*finger guns*

but I’m like super hyped for it and I want to cheer everyone on and for everyone to reach their goals !!

do you have a wishlist?

ummmm yes. every book in the entire world.

I actually am in the process of creating a wishlist because I have like 300 dollars in Barnes and Nobles money because apparently everyone knows I’m a book geek and literally everyone only gave me Barnes and Nobles gift cards for my birthday (but I’m not complaining…..)

But also I would die for anyone that bought me a book I had mentioned ever. (And I guess my tbr counts as a wishlist???????)

BUY ME BOOKS is the overall message of this question.

who are your favorite authors?

i’m one of those horrible people who doesn’t read everything by one author and like actually pays attention to who wrote what book. buuuut here are some authors that wrote some of my favorite books 🙂

  • Nora Sakavic (the literal queen and she’s writing something else?? I feel blessed)
  • Marie Lu (I can’t believe she actually invented writing??? The other queen who I would actually die for and I will read every single thing she wrote..)
  • Adam Silvera (Have I mentioned how much I love him??)
  • Benjamin Alire Sáenz (I am in love with every character he writes)
  • Leigh Bardugo (Wow the loml who writes amazing things and has the best characters)
  • Shaun David Hutchinson (I can’t believe he actually invented science fiction/contemporary, wow and his characters are amazing and I love them allllllll)
  • A.S King (She has great books. Even though I’ve already read one. But it was great.)
  • And I loooooove the characters that M*ggie S****vater has written but she can choke.

have you joined any groups?

haha no.

how many goodreads shelves do you have?

I currently have 12 buuuuuuuut I need to actually organize my books so the number will probably go up once I do so.

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 10.16.09 PM

AND THIS IS A FRIENDLY REMINDER TO COME TALK TO ME ON GOODREADS BECAUSE I’M LONELY

header

Finally the amazing and wonderful (and super nice) Marie from Drizzle and Hurricane Books nominated me in the comments for the NetGalley tag.

The Rules Are:

  • Link back to the tag’s creator (Kourtni Reads).
  • Thank and link back to the person who tagged you.
  • Answer the questions the best you can. If you don’t use NetGalley, you can substitute other sites or places where you get books!
  • Tag a few people to do this too.

AUTO-APPROVED: Who’s one author whose books you automatically want to read, regardless of what they’re about?

Since I already listed a bunch of authors in the Goodreads tag, I decided to try and find some other authors whose books I really enjoyed !!

  • Hannah Moscowitz – I haven’t actually read any of her other books but Teeth was beautiful and heartbreaking and in like my top three favorite books. Soo I really want to give her other books a try 🙂
  • Mindy McGinnis – I have also only read one book by her but it was so beautiful and heart stopping and I just! love! her! so! much !

REQUEST: What makes you want to request a book that you see on NetGalley?

Haaaa. I am such a cover snob. I don’t care if there is the best freaking description to ever exist, I will not look at that book if it has an ugly cover. (Or if there are like super good reviews or people keep telling me to read it.)

Then I go down to the description and if it looks cool then I want it !!

FEEDBACK RATIO: Do you review every book you read? If not, how do you decide what books to review?

Ummmmmm noooo. I never review things because I am a very awkward person who doesn’t like putting reviews out on goodreads. (But I’m trying to get better)

*Cue I Wanna Get Better by Bleachers*

But when you request arc’s you kind of have to review them….. I mean that’s kind of the whole point…..

BADGES: If you could create your own badge to display on your blog, what would it be for?

It would be a nice trash bag that says: this user is trash (but she has like one nice quality so it’s not just a normal trash bag.)

I suggest this image:

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 10.56.56 PM.png

WISH FOR IT: What’s one book that you are absolutely dying to read?

I reeeeeeeeeeeally reeeeeeeally reeeeeeally want to read A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue !!!!!! 29283884

This book looks soooo good and it has such good ratings and just agh !! It makes me happy just to look at this book !! But it’s being released on the 27th so I’m really excited !!!!!!!!!!!!

 

2016 NETGALLEY CHALLENGE: What was the last book that you received as an ARC that you reviewed? If you’ve never received an ARC, what’s the last book you reviewed?

Ummmm the last book I actually reviewed was I’ll Give You the Sun

buuuuuuuut I just got two ARCs I really want to review but I need to actually finish first and those are:

91epsqx38sl

I’m always a sucker for graphic novels and the synopsis on this book looked really good !! I’m really excited to start actually reading it but the bit I peeked at looked really good !!

9781683351528_s3

This book:

A. Has a really cool cover !!

and B. The synopsis looks really cool !! A girl who gets a full-body transplant?? I mean, I’m suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuper super squeamish outside of books but sign me up for medical thrillers (I guess??? How would you describe that genre??) And I’m just really excited to read it!!

 

Thank you so much Marie !! (You’re actually the nicest human being ever!!) header

That is all for this post guys !!

If you want to do these tags please do them because I’m too awkward to actually tag anyone 😦

This is literally just information about books and I’m glad you guys sat through it??? Read through it???? And if you actually reached this point, I owe you my eternal love and devotion.

talktome3444

What’s the best book you’ve read recently? Do you receive ARCs and if so, what’s your favorite that you’ve gotten recently? What are some books (and authors) that you would die for?

]amelie

 

17 thoughts on “Books – In a Bunch of Tags

  1. I’M GOING TO ASK MY MOM FOR ARCS SOON. And I’m glad you’re getting ARCs!!! It’s so EXCITING. Also I think I’ve seen She Myself and I around??? Or was it something else. DUDE I WANT GENTLEMEN’S GUIDE SOOOOOOOO BAAAAAAD. If you get it with your B&N book money, please lend it to me!!! ❤ And I think that if you knew you were doing the 250 book challenge at the start of 2017, YOU PROBABLY WOULD'VE READ ALL OF THEM ALREADY.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh, such great answers, I’m so glad you did these tags! I haven’t heard about She, Myself and I before but damn, that synopsis sounds quite cool, I love it already. I need to add it to your TBR! 🙂
    Also, I only read The Young Elites so far by Marie Lu but I loved it so much more than I thought I would, so….I can’t WAIT to read more, especially knowing now how much you love her!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

